Ale Tasting Bike Tours Reviews

Ale Tasting Bike Tours Reviews

Check out our ale tasting bike tour reviews and then join a ride yourself!

“Very good bikes, wonderful landscape and a great hostess”

30 July 2017 5 of 5 stars Reviewed by muenchgudrun
We did the Ale tasting tour with a group of 10 friends. Already the booking and the organisation was super, as Ginette answered to all my mails within a very short time. All of us had super bikes with suitable heights. We had a wonderful tour with Ginette, who is a most friendly and attentive host. We stayed in London for 5 days and had a lot of events, but we all agreed that the day with Ginette was the best of all. Although not all of us drink beer, we enjoyed the Ale tasting, which was great fun. We recommend merry pedallers very much and could imagine to be back for one of the other tours as well.

“Beer and Bike tour was fantastic”

5 Sep 2016 5 of 5 stars Reviewed by 2becks
We did the beer and bike tour for a friend’s birthday present Ginette was fabulous and the day was great fun, a bit of easy cycling (we averaged 5mph) along the river, some very nice pubs, an ale tasting as well as stops to hear about local history and discover places we never knew existed so close to our home in Twickenham! We will definitely be coming back for more!

“Brilliant fun- highly recommended.”
5 Sep 2016Reviewed by vickygoalen
Ginette was fantastic- found exactly the right balance between the cycling, the beer and teaching us about the local area and its history. Ginette got to know everyone, was fantastic company and a great laugh all day. I can’t recommend her and this tour highly enough- we all had a blast.

“An easy and much fun bike trip in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I did the ale tasting ride with my dad and it was great fun. The ride was really nice and the explanations interesting and knowledgeable, Ginette (the guide) really tried to make everyone in the group happy, and she pretty much succeeded. I’m not much of a drinker so I tried only some of the beers, the tasting part was interesting and tasty.

“Hen&Stag Bicycle Tour”

21 Aug 2016 5 of 5 stars Reviewed by pollyh617
Fantastic day out. Great tour tailor made. Good bikes, beer stops and top afternoon tea by the Thames.

“An easy and much fun bike trip in London”
20 Apr 2016 5 of 5 stars Reviewed by dporrat
I did the ale tasting ride with my dad and it was great fun. The ride was really nice and the explanations interesting and knowledgeable, Ginette (the guide) really tried to make everyone in the group happy, and she pretty much succeeded. I’m not much of a drinker so I tried only some of the beers, the tasting part was interesting and tasty.

DPorrat Jerusalem Israel Visited April 2016

“Very pleasant outing”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago

Ginette does it all properly, the preliminary email exchanges to set up the tour, phone calls on the morning (we needed help to find the rendezvous), choice of cycling area, good bicycles, pleasant ride and instructive explanation of the places we passed,

Shaulp25 Jerusalem Israel Visited April 2016

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g186338-d2437319-r365935057-Merry_Pedaller_Bike_Day_Tours-London_England.html#

“Two fun bike tours! ”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 September 2015 NEW

I’ve done two different bike tours with Merry Pedallers… one to Hampton Court and one Ale Tasting tour! Both were awesome experiences and Ginette was a fantastic guide both times! She ensures everyones comfort and safety and is very knowledgable about London and the surrounding areas. Our trip to Hampton Court was on a bit of a rainy day but Ginette took great care of us and we had lunch under a tree big enough to shield us from the rain! I booked the ale tasting tour for my brother’s visit to London and the whole party had a great time and we got lucky with a beautiful sunny day! And the beers we tasted were delicious! Ginette is an absolute gem and I’d recommend Merry Pedallers to anyone looking to do a fun, informative tour in London – why walk when you can bike?! 🙂

Cyncityy London Visited September 2015

“Half Day bike tour-Trail and Ale”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 24 August 2015

The “Trail and Ale” half day bike tour was a fantastic experience! My boyfriend and I stayed in London for over a week this summer and wanted to do more than just the basic tourist stuff. I looked into some biking tours and “Merry Pedaller” popped up right away. Our biking experience around the Thames River as well as tasting excellent English beer was more than just memorable! We couldn’t have asked for a better tour guide (Ginette) to lead us around the Thames River and to Kew Gardens. We not only biked and drank, but we also were well educated on the history surrounding the Thames River as well. If you are staying in or near London and need something out of the ordinary to do, this tour is highly recommended! If you have more than 3 hours to spare, you might even want to consider doing the whole day tour! You won’t regret it!

TierneyC Visited August 2015

“Best Ale Tasting Bike Tour Ever!!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 August 2015

Did this tour with 2 other friends this month. We had the best day! Everything about the tour was perfect, from collecting the bikes in the morning from Putney Bridge to finishing at a pub in Richmond. You don’t need to be super fit – it’s only about 10 miles in all but takes the whole day as you see lots, learn lots and stop frequently.

Not an ale drinker myself, but it was fun learning about their differences and trying them all out (well not all, just 6, which was good as it was the first stop of the day and the tasters were quite large, lol).

Ginette was very friendly and relaxed and certainly seemed to know her stuff. She served us tea in china cups with home made cake in the afternoon sitting on a blanket on the grass in front of Syon House.

Definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting a fun way to explore West London.

HarrowSmiler London Visited July 2015

“Fabulous experience!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 29 July 2015

This was such a great day. Good bikes, lovely scenic route, lots of interesting bits of history along the way, fun ale-tasting in Chiswick & rounded off with brilliant tea party picnic with homemade cakes in Syon Park. Ginnette was great fun & really added to our enjoyment. I have already recommended the bike tours to friends & definitely intend to go again. Thank you so much.

JW London July 2015

“Fun day of biking and drinking!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 23 April 2015

We had a great ride along the Thames River as Ginette told us the history surrounding that area of London! Ginette was extremely flexible and accomodating for our group! It was a beautiful ride, with great company and excellent drinks! She also makes excellent cakes!

Mikayla Visited April 2015

“Merry Pedallers ale tasting tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 7 September 2014

Good day led by Ginette – a friendly and experienced guide. Ale tasting in Chiswick and afternoon picnic tea in Syon Park with some gentle cycling alongside the river Thames.

Visited August 2014

“Adventurous, scenic, enjoyable, fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 August 2014

My boyfriend and I had a fabulous time with Ginette on 23rd August 2014 during the Ale Tasting Tour! We cycled along the Thames in Putney, Hammersmith, Kew e.t.c. Stopped off at a pub tried 6types of ale which was very exciting!

We then had lunch in another cute little pub in Kew by the Thames. Cycled onto Syon House/Park where we had a fabulous picnic with homemade cakes (by Ginette) with tea and a good chit chat with the others from the group. Continued cycling towards Richmond! Fabulous Tour great fun !!

Michee2014 Visited August 2014

“One of my favorite days in the greater London area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The biking tour was excellent. Not only was it a beautiful bike ride along the Thames, but the ales we tried were very unique and tasty! I thought the biking would be more tiresome but it was easy and very enjoyable. Definitely recommend taking this tour!

Adsidero Visited July 2014

“Ale Tasting Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had a couple of days in London and decided to give this a go. I was initially scared I wasn’t fit enough for the ride. Turned out to be a leisurely pace so if you have the same worries as I did, do not worry.
Turned out to be a great decision. I would have otherwise spent the day probably lost in the city center sucked into the typical touristy traps.

Ginette gave me easy to follow directions to the meeting point from my hotel.

She was very knowledgable of the area, history and most importantly the beer. The bike I was on eventually had a flat tire and Ginette had all the supplies and tools to fix the problem.

The ride was very enjoyable. Got to see some historic sites, wildlife, pubs and the Fullers Brewery. One of the stops was a pub where I had a traditional English pie and chips.
We also stopped for afternoon tea and Ginette had a wonderful picnic set up for us. I found that tea with milk to be very refreshing and the cakes she brought were awesome.
The tour ended at the Bulls Head and as we sat to have our last beer the tide of the rives Thames was coming in and came right up to the beer garden. Quite a sight. Afterwards Ginette pointed out the train station and gave me directions back to my hotel.

I would suggest Merry Pedaller Bike Tours to anyone visiting London. I had an amazing time and it’s a great way to escape the standard big city trip.

Marcell S Visited May 2014

“Ale Tasting Bike Tour highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 April 2014

This tour was simply outstanding! Ginette is a legend and a lady of many talents. The cycle route was beautiful, the commentary on British beers was very interesting and the absolute highlight was finishing on Richmond Green to be greeted with the sight of an afternoon tea picnic already laid out with proper china tea set and delicious home-made cakes, which were still very healthy, which was good because I always take care of my health, by getting this kidney health supplement at Amazon. I booked a private ale-tasting tour for a group of visiting American students and it was a wonderfully British day out! A good time was had by all and I will definitely be Merry Pedalling again!

Rachel A Visited April 2014

“Ale tasting tour – London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 29 November 2013

Jeanette/owner met us at the start of the tour (& stayed with us throughout). It was very “personnal” and she made everyone feel very welcomed!
It was very informative & interesting as she shared the local history along the Thames.
We went “behind the scenes” and saw some “real London” too!
It was a fantastic day out! very casual, easy riding but great fun and excellent learning along the way!
There were home made cakes and afternoon tea at the end – and “mum” came along and helped out – a real homestyle / family run business – it all felt very personal as if you were part of a family. My hubby was reluctant to come but admitted he had a great day out! and is still talking about it!
Just fun, interesting and felt like Jeanette really cared!!! Thank you Jeanette & mum !!

Mandy R Visited August 2013

“Weekday Ale Tasting Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 September 2013

My son & I had a great day out with Ginette on the Ale Tasting Tour last Tuesday.Travelling from Kings Cross area to Pudney Bridge was very easy so we joined the group at 10am . Gimette made us at ease straight away, making sure we were happy with the bikes etc,A nice American family of 3 also joined the morning tour & we soon were chatting away like MERRY PEDALLERS !We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the ales were wonderful & all so different, from our local North Yorkshire brewers! Lunch of goats cheese sandwich with salad & chips delicious & reasonably priced. After lunch we cycled past pretty riverside houses , pubs as far as Richmond The picnic in Syon Park of tea & delicious homemade cakes was wonderful , plus an added bonus of viewing a couple of vintage Rolls Royce motor cars making their way into Syon House.Ginette has it all so well organized from the offset until we reluctantly ended at Richmond ,with just enough local history & information to hold your attention throughout the tour. We hope to take another tour when next visiting London.
I fully recommend you join a Merry Pedallers tour ‘cos if I can do it ,healthy vintage female-aged 76 , anyone can!! Go on -Get on a bike & have a fun day out! Just make sure that if you have back pain like me, then go and get treated with this Lumbar Sympathetic Block.

lolymacca Visited Sept 13

“Very good ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 20 August 2013

Lots of detail on the local beers, pubs and breweries in the talks and the ride was very scenic. The home made cakes at the end were delicious and everyone was looked after. The ride was worth it.

uvarvu Trip Advisor

“Lovely way to spend the afternoon with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 August 2013

Ginette took us on a beautiful bike ride along the Thames for my hen do, stopping off along the way for some ale tasting and lunch. We ended at Richmond Green to find a beautiful picnic waiting for us – the lemon drizzle cake was delicious!
It was the perfect way to spend a day with my sisters and friends, in a relaxed and beautiful setting.
We had a mixture of keen cyclists and those who hadn’t ridden a bike since childhood. But the pace of the ride was just right and with the stops along the way, Ginette was able to accommodate all of us. Thank you Ginette!

Isalw82 Trip Advisor

“Thoroughly Enoyable and Memorable Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 May 2013

I arranged this for myself and a friend but I’m no cyclist, I can’t remember the last time I rode a bike, far too long ago even to think about, so as you can imagine I was a little concerned about cycling 22km. There was definitely no need, it was just like riding a bike! Ginette made me feel really comfortable and I had a little ride around before we set off. With the amount of stops for Ginette’s snippets of historical knowledge, the ale testing, lunch and afternoon tea I didn’t feel as if I’d hardly ridden any distance at all. It was a fun, and for me, a very different day. thoroughly enjoyable.

Ginette catered for my dietary needs for the afternoon tea, which was beautifully set out with china cups and saucers and little cushions for everyone to sit on. We’d decided we would make the most of the day and stay in Richmond for the evening, Ginette even organised for her mum to take our bag with a few things to change, from the start to the finish for us.

I’ve already been enthusing to my friends and family about it. A great day, well organised, thank you Ginette, see you on one of the other tours

Mandyw Trip Advisor

“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 May 2013

When booking these kind of activities one never knows quite what to expect. Will it be too faced-paced? will I be able to keep up? will I make it to the end of the day? and so on. Having now taken part in the Ale Tasting ride I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend to anyone who can ride a bike (and likes Ale, although this point isn’t too important!). Any reservations I had about the day were quickly overcome when meeting the rest of the group and setting off at a steady pace. We still covered a lot of ground but with frequent stops to check the group were all still together and being taught the historic importance of the places we were riding past, made the whole trip informative and fun. The tour guide was very well prepared and had every eventuality covered just in case, although luckily no-one suffered any punctures. I took my own bike but the bikes that were rented were of a decent standard and more than suitable for a day’s ride. All in all it was a most pleasant day with plenty of rare sites that most of us on the tour never knew where there, and if we did, little idea as to their historic importance. There is some road riding mainly using cycle ways, some gravel paths and a small amount of bike carrying to get up and down bridges at either side but help was always available at all times to anyone that needed it. I would like to take another one of the Merry Peddler tours and perhaps go a bit further afield – maybe a ride along the river from as far as docklands, right through to Richmond could be fun to see the whole of London. The afternoon tea at Syon House was a brilliant addition and very well thought out, offering a welcomed break as we neared the end of our journey. Would definitely recommend as a great day out.

Ruddski Trip Advisor

“Fabulous Fun Day !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 20 May 2013

Slow paced cycle along the River side ….Fun, informative and a great way to spend the day!
Thanks for the introduction to Ale … The tasting was interesting … Lunch venue good … . Tea and cakes near Syon park was very special! I have already recommend your tour to friends and promise we will be back to try another …. Maybe Richmond Park next time…. Or a theme ride !
Thanks Ginette you made the day very special …. You’ve good knowledge of the area … And your fun!! 🙂

Elaine4525 Trip Advisor

“Jester’s Ale Pub Ride – Amazing day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 20 May 2013

I bought this for a friends birthday and honestly we were both a bit worried before we went about what to expect but we should not have even worried! We both had the most amazing day! The day started with a friendly hello and welcome from Ginette and her Mum and we knew straight away we were in for a good day!

The route taken along the river was lovely passing the many rowers, boat houses, dog walkers and cyclists and it was great to find all the lovely little pubs that line the river that I would never have visited before! We both loved listening to Ginette’s little historic facts along the journey, she was a great tour guide and it was lovely to see her enthusiasm for the business!

The afternoon tea was great with cute China cups and homemade cakes!

The whole day was lovely and went so quickly considering we were out from 10am-5pm and was topped off by having a great group of people on our ride!

I would definitely recommend this to others! Thanks Ginette!

Jessical Trip Advisor

“One of the best days out exploring London with Ales, Cakes and great company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 May 2013

A group of us went on the Merry Pedaller Bike Tours Ale tasting day. Starting at Putney Bridge, Ginette met us all with bikes and helmets and was friendly and explained what we would be doing for the day. For a cycle of around 22 km it didn’t feel like we were working at all. The tour took a pace that let us enjoy the surroundings and the cycling too. Ginette has a wealth of interesting information along the way about old pubs and local British history that made the day even more special. Stopping off for breaks at some beautiful spots along the way allowed the friendly group to socialise with Ginette being a brilliant host. The ale tasting was just before lunch and all the types of ales explained, I’m an ale drinker so appreciated the different tastes, but this would be a great introduction to someone who hasn’t tried ale before (Ale tasters were just that – small tastes – not enough to be unsafe on a bike!). This was followed by a short cycle to a lunch spot in a Pub on the Thames. The final section of the cycle included a stop off for a picnic with tea and homemade cakes before finishing in Richmond. All in all the day surpassed what any of us were execting and we will be visiting Ginette and the Merry Pedaller Bike Tours again! If you’re looking for something interesting, fun and outdoors to do I cannot recommend this tour enough.

MarkABolding Trip Advisor

“Bikes, ale, afternoon tea, Thames and lots of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had such a fab day out with Ginette on the Merry Pedaller ale tour. As East London dwellers we rarely head west, and we loved biking up the Thames through leafy Putney, Kew, and Richmond, wetting our lips with some great ales on the way. Not all green- the quirky and industrial Brentford shipyards mixed things up before we had a gorgeous afternoon tea with china cups and homemade cakes at Syon Park. Ginette’s a great tour guide, super friendly and enthusiatic, looking after everybody, telling us interesting facts about the area and sights and history. The tour was easy cycling, suitable no matter when you last rode a bike. Would make great birthday, stag/hen, day trip for Londoners and tourists alike. Keep up the good work Ginette, sure this business will be a success!

HullJ Trip Advisor

“Bikes, ale, afternoon tea, Thames and lots of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had such a fab day out with Ginette on the Merry Pedaller ale tour. As East London dwellers we rarely head west, and we loved biking up the Thames through leafy Putney, Kew, and Richmond, wetting our lips with some great ales on the way. Not all green- the quirky and industrial Brentford shipyards mixed things up before we had a gorgeous afternoon tea with china cups and homemade cakes at Syon Park. Ginette’s a great tour guide, super friendly and enthusiatic, looking after everybody, telling us interesting facts about the area and sights and history. The tour was easy cycling, suitable no matter when you last rode a bike. Would make great birthday, stag/hen, day trip for Londoners and tourists alike. Keep up the good work Ginette, sure this business will be a success!

Purplehead Trip Advisor

“thames ale tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 9 September 2012

we had a great day cycling along the Thames from Putney Bridge to Richmond. Ginette was lovely and she was very knowledgable about the area and its history. the sun was shining and we sampled some ales on the way, had a pub lunch by the river and Ginettes mum prepared afternoon tea in Syon Park. the group was really nice and all in all it was a really enjoyable day in a part of London i don’t know that well.

aSTRIDB34

This entry was posted in Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.