Bespoke Bike Tour Reviews

Bespoke Bike Tour Reviews

Very good bikes, wonderful landscape and a great hostess
5 of 5 stars
Reviewed 30 July 2017
muenchgudrun
Aichelberg, Germany

We did the Ale tasting tour with a group of 10 friends. Already the booking and the organisation was super, as Ginette answered to all my mails within a very short time. All of us had super bikes with suitable heights.We had a wonderful tour with Ginette, who is a most friendly and attentive host. We stayed in London for 5 days and had a lot of events, but we all agreed that the day with Ginette was the best of all. Although not all of us drink beer, we enjoyed the Ale tasting, which was great fun.
We recommend merry pedallers very much and could imagine to be back for one of the other tours as well.

5 stars reviewed July 17
xmapjoen London
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Swan Upping bike ride – not to be missed
We had a simply marvellous morning cycling along the Thames from Shepperton to Staines watching the first day of the stately procession of the Swan Uppers, dressed in formal attire, in their six skiffs and accompanying motor launches as they row down the Thames to mark the new cygnets. The Swan Uppers finish five days later in Abingdon, Oxon.

For background – All the swans on the Thames belong to the Queen or The Vinters’ or the Dyers’ livery companies. Once a year in July their representatives go down the Thames. The Queen’s representative, dressed in a scarlet coat and with a swan quill in his hat is called The Royal Swan Marker. He and the Vinters’ and Dyers’ get each cygnet out of the water, ring it (once they’ve decided which of them the new cygnet will belong to) and checks its health.

This is surely one of the best free shows in town and I’ve been wanting to see it for years. Originally I was going to follow the Swan Uppers on a boat but as dates clashed I found Merry Pedallers and I’m very glad I did. Following by bike you get to see so much more. When a brood of swans is spotted (the name for the swans and their cygnets), the skiffs herd them to shore and act as a corral. The birds are all taken out of the water and lifted onto ground. Standing on the riverbank as we were, you are absolutely in the thick of the action, feet and at times inches from the swans – whereas in a boat you would be bobbing in the middle of the river not getting any close up action.

Ginette of Merry Pedallers was an excellent guide – knowledgeable, upbeat and enthusiastic. She met us a Shepperton station, adjusted her comfy bikes to our heights, which had a bottle of water, and off we set. Throughout the morning she explained what was going on and because she was an expert was able to take us to the best viewing spots ahead of the crowds – although to be honest I was struck by how few people there were – thank heavens. Perhaps as the week progresses and the Swan Uppers reach the honey pots of Windsor, Marlow, Henley, Maidenhead etc the crowds are bigger. Ginette had bread to feed the swans – this is very, very important if a) they are on the opposite side of the river from you and you want to tempt them over and b) to keep them with you until the Swan Uppers arrive as you want to see the swans lifted and marked in front of you – not on the opposite bank.

We saw the Thames as its best on a sunny day with blue skies and as well as the swans got a good look at the miles of expensive homes and flats overlooking the Thames.

“Fantastic tour with wonderful guide”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 31 May 2016

We organised a corporate event in the Windsor area and wanted to do a fun outdoor event during one of the evenings. We contacted Ginette, who was immediately very responsive. She organised a tour around Windsor Great Park for 1.5 hours (passing the polo fields, criquet fields, Long Walk, Princess Ann’s walk, different views, deer park, school, vinery, etc), and Ginette proved to be a very enthusiastic and captivating guide. We were a group of 45 people from all over the world and everyone was equally enthusiastic about the experience. Definitely worth doing, I would recommend this to everyone.

Visited May 2016 Inge1820

Fantastic day/afternoon out on the edge of the city”
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 2016

We booked a tour for a hen party last weekend and had the most fantastic day!
Ginette kindly met us with the all the bikes, right outside of our breakfast location (on the river) and off we went! We rode at an easy pace through Richmond park, which is such a beautiful place to cycle. I’ve lived here all my life and can honestly say that this guided tour is a wonderful way to both see the park and get some fresh air away from the big smoke.
For visitors to the city, Richmond park is an historical royal park and one of our ‘best kept secrets’: It’s also quick and easy to get to from central London via the train.
Ginette was extremely accommodating and an excellent host – I would certainly recommend this tour to anyone looking for something to do with the family or a group of friends.

Victoria London Visited March 2016

“Great hen party activity with a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 14 July 2014

10 girls of varying biking skills were the group that Ginette had to deal with last weekend.
We were part of a hen party and the majority of us were deaf.
Ginette organised an interpreter and made sure that the least confident riders were guided at the beginning until their confidence improved.

We had opted to bring our own pack lunch, have the afternoon tea and enjoy a treasure hunt.

The event was well organised and clearly explained. I think Ginette was surprised at our competitiveness!
She stopped us to show us interesting sights (view of Windsor and St Pauls from Richmond Park, ham house, etc) and slowed down the pace when necessary for the novice cyclists.
The ferry boat was a fun experience and the homemade cakes were delicious.

I would highly recommend a full or half day with Merry Pedallers and might bring the kids next time.
MooreSud Manchester Visited July 2014

“Perfect Tour ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 July 2014

Ginette did a wonderful job in working out the composition of our group and planning accordingly.
She arrived on time and was very good at starting with the basics in explaining the features of the bikes.
The tour was most enjoyable and Ginette very knowledgable, periodically stopping to point out various items of interest in Richmond. I intend to book trips with her in the future which in itself speaks volumes.
Mindspeaker July 2014

“Richmond Deer Park Bike Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 September 2014

Another great bike tour with Ginette from the Merry Pedallers !! My friends and I had such a fabulous time on the tour which included panoramic views from King Henry’s Mound ! This included an awesome vista 10 mile keyhole view of St. Paul’s Cathedral through a binoculars. We then went on a short ferry ride to Ham, visited Isabella Plantation with its beautiful gardens and flowers. There were some deer sightings along the route. What a great way to explore Richmond Park. We ended the day by having a picnic tea in front of the York House Gardens Statues and as usual Ginette’s lemon drizzle cake was scrumptious. I would fully recommend this tour, it is a fun activity to do with friends and family.
MimiK London Visited August 2014

“Ale Tasting Bike Tour highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 April 2014

This tour was simply outstanding! Ginette is a legend and a lady of many talents. The cycle route was beautiful, the commentary on British beers was very interesting and the absolute highlight was finishing on Richmond Green to be greeted with the sight of an afternoon tea picnic already laid out with proper china tea set and delicious home-made cakes! I booked a private ale-tasting tour for a group of visiting American students and it was a wonderfully British day out! A good time was had by all and I will definitely be Merry Pedalling again! RachelA Federation of International Education London Visited April 2014. this federation loves helping others with their education, so if you need help, then make sure to visit bookwormhub.com.

“Lovely way to spend the afternoon with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 August 2013

Ginette took us on a beautiful bike ride along the Thames for my hen do, stopping off along the way for some ale tasting and lunch. We ended at Richmond Green to find a beautiful picnic waiting for us – the lemon drizzle cake was delicious!

It was the perfect way to spend a day with my sisters and friends, in a relaxed and beautiful setting.

We had a mixture of keen cyclists and those who hadn’t ridden a bike since childhood. But the pace of the ride was just right and with the stops along the way, Ginette was able to accommodate all of us. Thank you Ginette!
IslaW82 London Visited August 2013

“A great stag day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a lovely cycle along the Thames for a stag. Ginette was very helpful and arranged for 18 bikes! She even came to meet us with them, so it was minimum effort. We then took a leisurely cycle, the route was chosen by us after much help with the planning by Ginette. We stopped at three pubs or so along the way, to ‘hydrate’. We then returned to a park where we all tucked into some top notch cakes from Ginette’s Mum, and played a bit of rounders. All in all, it was an excellent cycle. Far better than renting bikes as we had a guide and someone who was happy to lock and mind our bikes, while we ‘refreshed’ with some Pimms. If you’re thinking of an activity for a stag or a birthday, this is a handy and great way for everyone to go see a bit of london and chat along the way. Thanks for all the orgainising Ginette. It was a memorable day! Click https://www.theenergyblueprint.com/is-adrenal-fatigue-real/ and see if adrenal fatigue is real.

“Swan Upping – 15th July 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 22 July 2013

What a fabulous day!! Well organised and thoroughly fascinating! The weather really helped at it was scorching sunshine – Ginette organised a really interesting tour, I’d never even heard of Swan Upping before so it was a real treat to be part of something so historic. The cycle ride was pretty flat going and an easy pace along the tow path of the Thames, we even crossed the river on the local ferry. All very exciting and Ginette’s enthusiasm and knowledge is just amazing. Would really recommend this trip, we were all well looked after and it was just great fun to be outdoors and to witness such an amazing event!! Teresa
Visited July 2013

This entry was posted in Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *