Arrive at 16th Century Syon House by bike on our full day Ale Tasting Bike Tour , taste Fullers Brewery beers and cycle the River Thames. You will see where the Grand Union Canal joins the Thames, enjoy Syon Park and cross the Victorian half tide lock to finish at Richmond Upon Thames (Zone 4) for a riverside drink. Also can be visited on bespoke Royal Deer Park Rides or Kew Gardens Rides.
Offered on request March-November
£260 full day bike hire or Royal Deer Park/Kew Gardens Ride £220 half day bike hire (for 4 people).
The garden centre situated around the old stables, the first of it’s kind, opened 1968 by Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother is a nice stop for unusual gifts before our tea picnic.*
*Tea picnic not offered whilst Hammersmith Bridge closed
More on Syon House
On the site of Syon House was a 15th Century monastery of the Bridgettine Order named Syon Abbey, however dissolved under King Henry VIII it became crown property and the present Syon House was built.
Passing to the Northumberland family, it has been in their posession for over 400 years with various royal connections. Katherine Howard 5th wife of Henry VIII was emprisoned here before being put to death. After death, Henrys body spent a night here on route to Windsor, fluid from his bloated body seeped from the coffin and lapped up by a nearby dog.
In the 19th C a suite was built for Princess Victoria (later to become Queen), who was governed by the Duchess here.
The Observatory, the first of it’s kind in 1830, built of iron and glass inspired Joseph Paxton to build Crystal Palace. Housing the many unique plants from countries in Asia it’s a beautiful structure and rivals those at Kew Gardens.
The gardens were landscaped by Lancelot Capibility Brown as were Kew Gardens opposite over the river, this is unique in the country.